# Don't clobber existing GitHub build status when cancelling a build for the same commit

**URL:** <https://forum.buildkite.community/t/dont-clobber-existing-github-build-status-when-cancelling-a-build-for-the-same-commit/131>\
**Category:** Features Requests\
**Created:** [December 3, 2018, 11:57pm UTC](https://forum.buildkite.community/t/dont-clobber-existing-github-build-status-when-cancelling-a-build-for-the-same-commit/131 "2018-12-03T23:57:38Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 1\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![therealbnut](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/flex016/user_avatar/forum.buildkite.community/therealbnut/32/390_2.png) [@therealbnut](https://forum.buildkite.community/u/therealbnut)\
**Post date:** [December 3, 2018, 11:57pm UTC](https://forum.buildkite.community/t/dont-clobber-existing-github-build-status-when-cancelling-a-build-for-the-same-commit/131/1 "2018-12-03T23:57:38Z")

</div>

It’s very easy to rebuild an entire build when you meant to just rebuild a step. This means you have to wait for the full build again to get the green status. Alternatively, you might manually run a build and then decide against it.

Ideally if you cancel a build it shouldn’t clobber an existing GitHub status for the same commit.
