Downloading artifact from different pipeline

Hello,

I’m a bit new to buildkite so I apologize if this is seems rudimentary.

I’m running into some troubles with designing a process for cross-pipeline artifact sharing. I have two pipelines each for two different applications, A and B. In pipeline A, I build the application into a binary and upload it to artifact storage. In pipeline B, during my testing step, I need to download the newest binary uploaded by pipeline A. Since this is in a running build, I’m using buildkite-agent artifact download. However, since pipeline B doesn’t have the artifact, the command can’t find it unless I provide the build id, which changes every build.

I know I can use the RESTful API to query the builds, select the one I want, use the id to get the artifacts, etc. But I’m unsure if this is “idiomatic buildkite”. It also adds extra code to our process and requires creating and managing an API access token (doesn’t look like the BUILDKITE_ACCESS_AGENT_TOKEN works for the api).

I guess my question is, what is the best solution here? Am I missing some kind of feature which allows me to do something like buildkite-agent artifact download --from pipelineA release.tar.gz . and then sort by date? Or am I simply abusing the artifact system here?

Hi @jackbischoff

First of all welcome to Buildkite community and thank you for reaching out to us with your question.

One way to approach your usecase is to have pipeline A trigger pipeline B. In pipeline A before triggering pipeline B you will perform artifact upload process.

Now pipeline B build will have below environment variables available to it:
BUILDKITE_TRIGGERED_FROM_BUILD_ID
BUILDKITE_TRIGGERED_FROM_BUILD_NUMBER
BUILDKITE_TRIGGERED_FROM_BUILD_PIPELINE_SLUG