Need guidance on correct way to develop pipelines

Hi,

I am new to developing pipelines on Buildkite, although our company has been using Buildkite for a while now. I have a daunting task to update a pipeline written by someone who has left the company. So bear with me if my question sounds a bit elementary. I don’t do this everyday. :slight_smile:

What is the typical pipeline development workflow?

• Modify scripts locally
  • Commit changes to my Git remote
  • Buildkite jobs are triggered for that commit
  • See if the pipeline ran successfully or repeat step 1-4 until it does

This feels a little crazy and almost like I am doing something wrong. Is there a better way to test my pipeline without committing things to Git? Because most of the time I end up committing tiny fixes just to see if Buildkite accepts my syntax. This is walking at a snail’s pace.

I didn’t find any guidance in the tutorial and documentation on this. I can understand that changes have to be in Git so agents can check them out. Is there at least a way to verify that the pipeline configuration + shell scripts + plugins + dynamically generated steps, etc. are all configured right before pushing it to Git? I do use shellcheck.

I have miles to go to update my pipelines and I am stuck in the first gear. Please help!

Thanks!

To documentation maintainers: it would be useful if there is a page in the documentation that explains what a typical pipeline development workflow looks like, so newbies like myself can work on a project effectively. The current tutorials at https://buildkite.com/docs/tutorials/* explain only a part of that setup. Or have I missed something?

Hello, gaur!

Welcome to the exciting world of using Buildkite! We totally understand the challenge of taking on someone else’s project, especially within a short time frame, and we are here to help!